1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

The 4.0 tick

Old 12-29-2011, 05:05 PM
rangergirl94
Elder User
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
The 4.0 tick

I have a 94 ranger 4.0 that has the tick it had it when I bought it at 159,000 it now has 180,000 no issues yet but im just wondering will these motors tick forever or should I be ready for failure? I take good care of it I heard its worn wrist pins but idk

Old 12-30-2011, 08:05 AM
jim collins
Cargo Master

I'm kinda new to the 4.0L V/6, the V/8s are what I'v allways had. Mine makes that sound too,if it was a v/8 or inline 6,i would say it was a worn or loose rocker arm. Not a real bad thing,but not good . A bad wrist pin will have double knock most of the time. Maybe by taking this to the top others may join in with some better information for the both of us._____JIM

Old 12-30-2011, 10:10 AM
pawpaw
Received 73 Likes on 71 Posts
Originally Posted by rangergirl94
I have a 94 ranger 4.0 that has the tick it had it when I bought it at 159,000 it now has 180,000 no issues yet but im just wondering will these motors tick forever or should I be ready for failure? I take good care of it I heard its worn wrist pins but idk
Kinda difficult to imagine what you've defined as a "tic" sounds like, if your relating it to a wrist pin knock sound, which my then new 99 4.0L was said by my Dealers engine Tech to have had & it was more like the rattle sound an idling, or lightly accelerating Diesel engine makes.

The 4.0L pushrod Cologne engine has been bored, stroked & had it's piston skirts trimmed by Ford, so it's prone to piston slap, if the factory isn't mindful of part tolerance buildup & lets things get sloppy on fit.