Sponsored by: Moser

Newbie 1978 F250 Rebuild

Old 12-20-2011, 12:53 AM
jtindale
Senior User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie 1978 F250 Rebuild

Hey everyone,

I’ve been following this forum for a few weeks now and am gathering some great ideas. I wanted to start a thread on here to document my progress but also get some additional ideas specific to my build.
<O</O
To start off I am very new to mechanical work. I’ve done a few smaller things here and there but nothing even close to what I am about to embark on. I consider myself pretty handy and pick up ‘hands-on-work’ pretty easily. I bought this truck for a few reasons but one was to learn. I really want to learn how a lot of this stuff works and how to rebuild and repair something like this. I know with this help of this forum I will be able to accomplish that.
<O</O
Ok, enough with the intro and on to the truck. I bought my 1978 F250 Custom from a co-worker. It’s a regular cab with a 460 and a C6 auto transmission. When I bought the truck it hadn’t run in a couple of years since the previous owner never managed to fully install the remanufactured transmission he purchased. We brought the truck home and noticed the torque converter bolts were not fully screwed in. After tightening them down we turned the truck over without an issue. We fixed a few other things to get it in running order such as replacing the freeze plugs, starter coil and master cylinder. The truck was running well but in the back of my mind I wanted to do more. I wanted to tear it down and build it back up. For the last few weeks the truck has been in my garage and I have been disassembling it. Right now I am to the point where I will be pulling the cab off in a day or two.
<O</O
Once I get it down to the frame I will start to clean it up and then paint it with POR-15, Rustoleum, ZeroRust or one of the other products recommended on this site. I’ve been doing some research on the products but haven’t decided on one yet.
<O</O