1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Need advice, Broke off bolt in exhaust manifold to head!

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2011, 03:55 PM
Studawg
Thread Ender

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Need advice, Broke off bolt in exhaust manifold to head!

Well i had an exhaust leak on this F250 and so I started torqueing the bolts on the manifold to the head. (45 ft.lbs) A couple were very loose so I was thinking "Great, this may fix my problem!"

My first mistake was probably the Harbor Freight Tools torque wrench.

I am on the driver side, second from the rear and then bang! I see a gaping hole where the bolt used to be. Bolt on the floor. I cant see up in the hole to the head, I think it broke flush with the head.

How do I solve this problem. I am really no expert mechanic, but I think this may be a real pain in the a$$ and I'm a little worried.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Old 09-28-2011, 04:11 PM
cj45lc
Cargo Master
Received 89 Likes on 69 Posts
pull the manifold off & hopefully there is enough of the bolt to get vice grips or a small pipewrench on. I'd soak the devil out of it with PB Blaster or Kroil before I started trying to get it out. If it's broke off flush to the head you're gonna have to drill & easyout it. Good luck

Old 09-28-2011, 06:08 PM
danskool
Go Bills !
Received 19 Likes on 12 Posts
I got snapped off bolts/studs out twice before without removing the manifold. I made up a bushing that had the same OD of the bolt (or ID of the manifold hole). In the center of the bushing i drilled out the ID of the bushing with a 1/8" drill. The bushing was my drill pilot for center drilling. I drilled the broken bolt with the 1/8" drill about 3/8" deep.