Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Performance, Engines & Troubleshooting > Modular V8 (4.6L, 5.4L)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Welcome to Ford-Trucks Forums!
Welcome to Ford-Trucks.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Ford-Trucks Forums community today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-07-2011, 11:30 AM
New User

Lumberjack97 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Question 1997 F-150 5.4 with new battery won't turn over

Just a frustrated newbie here trying to determine why my truck won't turn over. Been running rough for last couple of months, replaced a couple of coil packs. (No codes indicated) Some improvement. Last two trips out, the starter was dragging and hesitating a little before the engine fired. It's been very hot here in the Carolinas (like everywhere else), so I thought it was the battery when I got the clicking sound and no start. Bought a new battery yesterday and now it still clicks, and has a check engine light. Charged battery and have same result. Truck has 50K on it. I'm dead in the water at home with no code reader.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Old 08-07-2011, 01:11 PM
Elder User

enriched&beyound is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lumberjack97 View Post