6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Where or how do I get this "tuned".

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2011, 05:21 PM
hittingguru
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Where or how do I get this "tuned".

Make a long story short- I just had the FICM replaced and the oil cooler pump replaced on my 06 - 6.0 turbo. While they were at it, I had them install a Sinister EGR cooler eliminator kit. They left the EGR in, so I wouldn't get codes for an EGR failure problem. What I'm getting now is code for poor EGR flow. (Figures since there is no flow by the EGR now). How can we eliminate getting this code? I'm new to diesel so I've been told I need to get a custome tuner. Any one want to help explain this to me?

Old 08-06-2011, 05:30 PM
wulfman
Posting Guru

If its p0401 you may keep getting it I do with my 03, no light but the code seems to always come back . My EGR is in and plugged in also. I don't think its hurting anything.

Old 08-06-2011, 07:22 PM
hittingguru
Freshman User
I'm not sure what the code is, and yes, the mechanic said it isn't hurting anything, but the check engine lite is always on. It would be ok, if nothing else were to go wrong, but I would prefer to get that check engine lite off.

Old 08-06-2011, 07:31 PM
wulfman
Posting Guru

Yea i think you are going to need a tuner to get rid of the check eng light, sense yours is a 06. The 03's don't throw a light.

Old 08-07-2011, 10:52 AM
hittingguru
Freshman User
Anyone have any recommendations

Old 08-07-2011, 11:02 AM
Piolet
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I have an early 2003 and it does show the CEL with p0401 every now and again. I have the egr delete done.

Until I can get an SCT I have an Edge CTS Insight. I can read and clear codes while driving.

Old 08-07-2011, 11:23 AM
hittingguru
Freshman User
Originally Posted by Piolet