Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Older, Classic & Antique Trucks > 1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-06-2011, 03:56 PM
New User

Irrational is starting off with a positive reputation.
New member, new project

Hello all, I am new to fixing these old trucks and found my first project hidden in the eastern slope of the Sierra Nevadas and sitting for 10 years. It wasn't running and had a broken rear axle but I got a real nice deal on it. It has the stock 352 and 4wd.

Click the image to open in full size.

My brother was kind enough to tow it home for me and it took my Jeep in 4lo to push it up the driveway and into the garage.

So far I have rebuilt the rear axle, I needed to have the third member rebuild and had to find a replacement axle shaft. I have rebuilt the entire brakes and replaced the master cylinder.

The engine has required the least amount of work. We had to figure out how to eliminate the second battery, as it had a second one installed to help power a winch. Other than that I had to rebuild a carb, I did a ton of research beforehand as I have never touched a carb before. Then just basic replacement of fluids, plugs and wires it started back up.

I still have several issues to fix, including a bit of death wobble when I hit a bump at speed, and figuring out the 4wd system. Speaking of which, in the picture above I appear to having a blown out part attached to the firewall. I have no clue what the name is. If anyone knows that would be helpful.

Cleaned up rims.

As of now I am starting some bodywork and finding a source for a hood. This is something I have never done. But with research, which this site has helped via lurking in the past, I am sure I will be able to be successful.

Old 08-06-2011, 05:25 PM
Freshman User