84 6.9 idi - 2 broken head bolts

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2011, 06:20 PM
fj2u
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
84 6.9 idi - 2 broken head bolts

Greetings everyone!

My mechanic noticed 1 loose and 1 broken off driver side head bolt today. He's not familiar with diesels or this engine - but was pretty surprised its actually running so well, considering. He advised I track down a new set of head bolts and attempt to replace (and torque) them 1 at a time.

My questions (this is a new truck to me, and I'm just beginning to learn basic mechanics, so please bare with me):
  • 1) How serious is this and is anyone else suprised the engine hasn't melted down, blown out its coolant or oil, or mixed the coolant with oil yet?
  • 2) How serious is this issue - should I park the truck until I get the new bolts in?
  • 3) What are the chance I have blown the head gasket and how would I know?
  • 4) Do you think I have destroyed anything with this condition? Should I do anything else BEFORE or AT THE SAME TIME I install the new bolts?
  • 5) Should I have the head pulled for any reason?

What would you do? Thanks in advance for any assistance!

-----------------------------------------------
Background for anyone that cares...
I'm new to the forum and have already found a wealth of information here. I'm also new to diesels, fords and basic mechanical knowledge. I've already learned a lot browsing through this forum; and wanted to say thanks for helping out guys like me. I'm 32 and hate that I never learned how to work on cars and I'm doing everything I can to learn now.