1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Mechanical failure what where when

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2011, 06:38 AM
cruisetopdown
Laughing Gas
Received 273 Likes on 109 Posts
Mechanical failure what where when

Thought this might be fun.....
I was thinking of some mechanical automotive failures from the days of working in the dealerships. What mechanical failure(s) did you experience, where were you and when did it happen. I can recall leaving a 10mm socket inside the timing cover on my 67 mustang when I was a budding mechanic (not a good one by the way), it made a bit of racket on start-up.
w

Old 07-29-2011, 07:42 AM
cruisetopdown
Laughing Gas
I can recall leaving a 10mm socket inside the timing cover on my 67 mustang......

Check that, it was a standard socket of some sort (7/16 or 1/2).
w

Old 07-29-2011, 12:25 PM
Harrier
Lead Driver
Received 764 Likes on 374 Posts
Originally Posted by cruisetopdown
I can recall leaving a 10mm socket inside the timing cover on my 67 mustang......

Check that, it was a standard socket of some sort (7/16 or 1/2).
w
Thanks for clarification. I saw that and had a confused look on my face. I was going to ask what you were doing with a metric tool on that car.

Old 07-29-2011, 01:32 PM
cruisetopdown
Laughing Gas
One of the more memorable snafu's was when one of my technicians' was rushed to get a rear diff. overhaul completed by the end of a very hot Friday. He turned in the ticket, washed up and went home. I received a call an hour later that informed me that the truck skidded to a stop about 10 miles away! The tech forgot to fill the diff with fluid.....
Anyone else have a good story to tell?
w

Old 07-29-2011, 05:46 PM
gdgerland
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post