6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Guage Monitoring - Engine Pre Startup Info 2004 6.0 L

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2021, 11:35 PM
Canuck129
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Guage Monitoring - Engine Pre Startup Info 2004 6.0 L

Hi All,

This post is related to the powerstroke 6.0, but I had incorrectly posted it to the larger 1999 - 2016 powerstroke, but am now moving it to the intended group. I am new to FTE. Sorry for the error.

I have recently purchased a 2004 F350 DRW, with low mileage, and have been reviewing the Forum with great interest and have found it to be very informative and useful. Sorry, I have not yet been able to set up my profile, signature, etc and expect that will come as I become more familiar with the Forum's operations.

It is apparent the 6.0 L engine is capable, but requires diligent monitoring and understanding to effectively get the best out of it. I will be stepping through basic maintenace processes over the next while as I become familiar with the truck and engine. I also anticipate purchasing the Edge SC3 monitoring device very shortly and setting that up.

I have also note that while it is beneficial to have the various guages functioning while the engine is running, one must understand and pay attention to certain key functions of the engine prior to starting or running the engine - i.e., battery charge status, FICM voltage level (48V), fuel pressure, HPOP ?, etc. Unfortunately, it appears that the various scanners and electonic devices seem to typically have a delay in reporting and one may not realize that critical information is not known or acted on in time to avoid engine damage.

I am interested in know what specific guages/monitors you would recommend have information from early at the time of engine startup. I also assume that most of these will have to be set up "manually" rather than via an electronic device interface.