Sponsored by: Moser

Started My Crew Cab Project

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2011, 10:13 PM
VocaTexas
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Started My Crew Cab Project

Well, last week I started sanding paint off the hood of my '76 Crew Cab. My local NAPA store has an annual filter and tool sale which happened to be this past Friday. While I was there I picked up a hammer and dolly set. I got to work on learning how to take out dents today. It's coming along pretty good, I think. I used to weld for a living, so I basically understand how to read the metal.

One thing I have never been too good at is painting. I've helped friends shoot paint, but my painting experience is limited to refinishing toolboxes with rattle-cans. I bought a decent paint rig at Harbor Freight, along with a regulator and water separator and I'm going to paint my cattle trailer first for practice.

My big question for today is: my hood had patchy paint and surface rust where the paint was gone, as does the roof. To get a good finish, do I need to strip them both to bare metal, or just the rusty areas and take the paint down past the dead paint?

This is going to be a driver/hard-working towing rig, not a show queen, but I do want it to look nice when I'm done with it. I'm not stripping it to the frame, though I'm thinking about taking the bed off so I can actually paint between the cab and bed.

Old 05-17-2011, 06:50 AM
teds74ford
Logistics Pro
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I would just strip it down and be done with it. Either a knotted wire wheel, or a ready strip disc on a 4.5" angle grinder will do the trick. Good luck, and post up some pics

Old 05-19-2011, 09:32 PM
VocaTexas
Posting Guru
I got a fair amount of time in working on the Crew the last two days. Here's what I started with:

Worked a few dings out around the tail lights. Got them pretty close, but still have just a bit to go.