1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I Straight Pipe a V10 F-250

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2013, 05:13 PM
RedRaider15
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Sadly, I am still deciding on an exhaust system... I would like to try straight pipe (not a true straight pipe as I will keep the cats), and if its to loud for me, I will just put back on a muffler. What are ya'lls opinions and what do I need to do to straight pipe it?

(sorry, I'm new to all of this... This is my first truck)

Old 10-02-2013, 06:36 PM
dkf
Hotshot
Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts
The V10 can sound highly annoying even with with a muffler. I had some smaller capacity mufflers on mine before in both lightning style and stock over the axle exit. The small loud mufflers got old after a couple years.

I went to a Flowmaster Force II cat-back about 5 years ago. Installed one on my dads V10 about 3 years ago. They work well, sound good and are not annoying. I just replaced mine with a new stainless Force II catback due to the tailpipe rusting through at the muffler. The stainless kit is a better quality kit but it was not available when I bought mine years ago.

Old 10-02-2013, 07:07 PM
RedRaider15
Freshman User
I actually really like the sound of a V10! I've still been watching youtube videos to see what I like... My dad told me that I could do whatever exhaust-wise I wanted to do on my truck. All of my friends drive trucks or suv's with cut-off mufflers or a louder muffler.

Old 10-02-2013, 07:31 PM
Hotpocket
Elder User