Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

water leaking in on driver floor

Old 04-16-2011, 03:04 PM
trucktech
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
water leaking in on driver floor

it was raining today and when i went to get in my X i notice water dripping in on the floor in my rubber mats. it was down by the ebrake pedal under the dash. is this a windsheild seal problem?

Old 04-16-2011, 04:11 PM
05MilMachine
Cargo Master
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Better dry off and cover up your GEM on the back of the fusebox fast... When it gets wet things get expensive.

Old 04-17-2011, 02:02 PM
merlinx
New User
I am a auto tech and have seen this a few times. You hit the nail on the head with the seal around your windsheild. You can try to run a water hose around the glass to be sure. I have replaced many fuse blocks as a result of this problem, can cause allsorts of strange electrical problems. hope this helped,good luck.

Old 04-18-2011, 08:38 PM
RCKYMTN-PSD
Elder User
Have you had your windshield replaced or just bought this X? Windshields dont usually start leaking unless they have had a poor install sometime recently.
I have found grommets in the firewall, sunroof drains, heater box, etc. to cause this also.

Old 04-18-2011, 09:30 PM
05MilMachine
Cargo Master
Your mostly correct... most windshields dont leak unless installed wrong, but Ford trucks aren't like most vehicles in this aspect....... For some odd reason Ford trucks like to leak at the windshield area after a few years. Maybe the sealant they use shrinks or they didn't use enough. I dont know. I do know I have owned a lot of Fords and seen a lot go through the body shop and it seems every other one had a leaky windshield. I lost the GEM in my 97 due to a leaky windshield area. It even leaked after a new windshield and turned out to be a seam in the firewall below it. I am going to proactively cover the GEM in my Excursion so that if it does get a leak it wont cripple my truck.

Old 04-19-2011, 06:40 AM
trucktech