White smoke at start-up

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2011, 06:51 PM
akamacgyver
Clueless spectator!
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
White smoke at start-up

Hey guys,

My truck ia running great, but lately (last 3 weeks), she has been smoking a lot at start-up. Smoke is white and not sweet smelling, and I am driving a lot of miles and losing no antifreeze. The smoke clears up after 30 secs. to a minute. I plan to replace the injectors soon simply because IDK how many miles are on them, but I thought I would try the diesel kleen thing for now. So do I pull the fuel water separator, emply it and fill it with diesel kleen or is it a mix? If so what is the ratio? How long should I run it? Will I smoke out every one in a 5 mile radius? I've never done it before and want to do it right. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Mac.

Old 04-03-2011, 06:56 PM
Otahyoni
Posting Guru
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Fill the fuel filter and let it run for a few seconds, just long enough to fill the IP. Then let it sit for a good long while....

Then away you go...

White smoke that smells like diesel is unburnt fuel, could be worn injectors, could be you glow plug system is getting lazy...

Old 04-03-2011, 07:04 PM
akamacgyver
Clueless spectator!
could be you glow plug system is getting lazy... [/quote]

What do you mean lazy, I tested all plugs with an ohm-meter and replaced one bad one. She starts great just smokes. And when we say fuel filter, we are talking about the fuel water separator right? Just making sure!

Thanks for the quick response.

Mac.

Old 04-03-2011, 09:22 PM
Fordownsall
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts