6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

2010 6.4 Diesel blowing white smoke

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2011, 07:44 PM
capthunter
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2010 6.4 Diesel blowing white smoke

Deal says nothing is wrong i do not believe them. Please provide suggetions or advise if this is normal first time diesel owner

Old 03-29-2011, 02:50 PM
hull_viper2
New User
I too had this happen. It occured while I was pulling a trailer with a 5k load. It only happened when I was going up hill. I think (key word....think) it was because I had the speed control set at 85 and the fact of going up hill, it overloaded the turbo. My brother told me when I bought mine to never let the turbo gauge go past the halfway mark when towing. I was at 3/4s or higher when this happened to me. Otherwise, I have never had it happen. I am no expert on this so dont quote me.

Old 03-29-2011, 04:11 PM
StanleyZ
Logistics Pro
Received 68 Likes on 31 Posts
Originally Posted by capthunter
Deal says nothing is wrong i do not believe them. Please provide suggetions or advise if this is normal first time diesel owner
There are some guys on here who can probably give you a good idea but you need to supply a little more info. When does it happen, what it the temp and weather, are you accelerating or cruising, or does it do it all the time? Answer the stuff like that and someone will be able to help. One thing for sure, it should not be doing any smoking.

Old 03-29-2011, 05:14 PM
senix
Super Moderator
Received 1,406 Likes on 1,002 Posts
Originally Posted by hull_viper2