Sponsored by:

A/C Repair

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2011, 08:22 PM
Bubba Jones
Fleet Mechanic
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
A/C Repair

I know there is a lot of information out there covering this material, but I am a little confused and would like some clarification before I proceed and spend tons of money.

Recently, my 1996 Bronco's A/C compressor froze up.. and I thought I would get lucky replacing the clutch (thinking it was just the compressor clutch that went bad.. but that wasn't it..) so I know I need to replace the compressor. After doing a bit of research, I learned that if the compressor needs to be replaced, then the accumulator, orifice tubes and condenser all need to be replaced also.

Now I can do the labor of replacing these parts on my own, but I'm not an expert on A/C and know there is more to it then bolting on new parts.. and I don't have the tools and am a little nervous to rent them to evacuate, recharge, and flush the system. After asking around local mechanics and such, I am under the impression that I can just purchase the compressor, condensor, orifice tubes, and accumulator. Then do the labor to replace these parts, and bring my bronco into the shop to have them flush, evacuate, and recharge the system.

Am I correct in this? Can I just buy the new parts and install them, then leave everything open (tubes and such not attached) so the shop can flush, evacuate, then recharge everything? Or is there something I am missing? And also, are there any O-rings I need to replace? Or will those be replaced in the parts I buy?

Any clarification would be much appreciated! If I can just do the bolting on of the new parts and have the shop do the rest I would be happy!

Old 03-20-2011, 09:51 PM
BaronVonAutomatc
Postmaster
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Theoretically you could leave everything open, but some parts are a lot easier to flush out of the truck.

Unless your coolant has leaked out you'll need to take it to a shop to have it recovered.