1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Dentsides Ford Truck
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Moser

Changing Main Rear Seal on 302...just how hard? Pull engine?

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2010, 12:31 AM
MikeS29
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Changing Main Rear Seal on 302...just how hard? Pull engine?

(EDIT: JUST ANSWERING QUESTION BELOW, PLANNING ON PULLING ENGINE OUT)

I have several oil leaks that need to be cured, including leaking main seals. I have never attempted this, and I am wondering: just how difficult is it to pull my 302? My Chiltons describes replacing seals with the engine still in the truck, but it sounds more difficult than pulling the engine and working on it in the shop. Mind you, I have never done this: I am a newb.

So what would you do? Leave it in or pull it? If I pull it, what kind of hoist/engine cradle would you recommend?

Thanks.

Old 07-09-2010, 01:31 AM
MADFord4X4
Senior User
You can get to everything much easier with it out of the vehicle, it can be done either way. What you need to ask yourself is do I want to do this on my back with everything falling in my face or should I label all the wires and bag the bolts and label the bag as to were they came from and do you have the equipment to remove the motor?
If you have access to an engine hoist and an engine stand and the time then remove the motor. You have this web site with a bunch of guys who have tons of experience who will help with any problems and you have your manual.
All you are doing is replacing gaskets right? You are not rebuilding your motor for the first time.
Go for it and don't be afraid to ask questions. We will help.

Old 07-09-2010, 09:59 AM
MikeS29
Senior User