6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

New to the forum and need HELP...

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2011, 10:37 PM
Ncacciutti
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to the forum and need HELP...

Hi All,
I am not a diesel mechanic and I don't pretend to be one. Below I have explained what took place with the truck in hopes that you all have heard this a million times and know the fix.
Friday morning I start my '05 F350 up take it to the gym, work out for about an hour, and when I come back out to start the truck it will start up and run extremely rough for about 10 to 20 seconds and shut off. I leave the truck get a ride home and head back over about 3 hours later to meet a tow truck. While waiting I try to start the truck again. The truck fires right up and runs great. So, I head to work. On my way in I swing by the local Ford dealer to see if they had any idea what the story was. The service manager didn't think it sounded like a normal issues so I left it at that. I head back out to start the truck up and it is doing the exact same thing it had done earlier. They bring the diesel tech out to look at the truck and he immediately tells me that it is not good and they will need to research the issue. I leave the truck with them. Around 2:30pm I get a call from the Ford tech saying the truck needs a new "Injector control pressure sensor" and the job will cost me $480. I give them the green light to do the job. About 3 hours later I get a phone call saying they were about to put the sensor in when the truck started giving them different signals and now think my truck needs a new computer and wire harness ($2,040.00). I asked them to leave the truck over night and retest it today. Today I get a call from Ford saying it could be a bad Injector in the #5 cylinder along with an issue in the manifold with some type of oil tray and the computer and wire harness.