Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner
Old 11-12-2014, 05:44 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Electrical Guides
Print Wikipost

Can a mechanically challenged person change battery cables ???

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2011, 08:24 AM
quiacato
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can a mechanically challenged person change battery cables ???

My truck will not start - I am pretty sure it is the cables/connectors. I was in the process of pricing them out and having my boyfriend replace this weekend when he is home. Now I am stuck at home and cant get to work - if I cannot get the dealer I bought the truck from to fix it ( I bought it 5 weeks ago so it is technically not covered ) is it something I can do myself????? I have never worked on a vehicle before but do want to learn....

I have checked the batteries and the voltage is good - the connectors are beat and the cables have been spliced so I am pretty sure that is the problem. Tapping on the battery worked this weekend when it would not start, now it is not. There is no clicking when trying to start - so probably not the starer right???

ARGH - I really need to be at work right now!!!!!

Old 03-08-2011, 08:30 AM
jKsled
Cross-Country
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
simple answer. yes. if you have a socket set/pliers somewhere it's as simple a job as can be. unbolt from battery, unbolt the other ends, and replace

Old 03-08-2011, 08:40 AM
Brother Les
Cargo Master
Received 72 Likes on 53 Posts
Originally Posted by quiacato