Large Truck My truck is bigger than yours. The forum for 2+ ton trucks (all years), COE's, Louisville's, Big-Job's etc.

1988 F700 Advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2011, 10:58 AM
FC_Bryan
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1988 F700 Advice

Hey guys I am new to the Big Truck world... I am seeking some advice from you guys. I picked up a 1988 F700 24' Box truck (24,600 GVW). When I went to look at the truck it had been sitting for some time and had about 2 gallons of old old fuel in her. I asked the guy to get some good gas so we could test drive it. We added 5 gallons of fresh fuel and when we were driving it was back firing pretty bad and 2 times out the carb... needless to say the Power valve diaphragm was blown out and she was leaking a good bit of fuel Also noticed that the vacuum port under the carb on the back side was not hooked up I think that is for the secondaries?? So I pulled the carb wend to NAPA and ordered a new one put it on and it still leaked for some reason all around the gasket... it was the same size as the old one but not as thick. So I decided to do something I would not normally do I used RTV on both sides of the gasket and let it sit upo over night to dry. It worked and did not leak.. I had to get this thing off the street and back home to Wy... So I loaded up all the stuff from my storage unit and hit the road for the 9 hour drive to wy. The truck drove fine but on hills it would slow down to like 35mph on the longer ones and like 45 on the small ones... and on flat ground it would speed up to around 68 and then just stop and then slow down to 63 or so and then start pulling again. I had a long 10 mile slow but solid climb up hill were I pretty much had it in 3rd gear doing 35... I noticed that if I kept lifting my foot and kinda pump the gas pedal it would accelerator better and if I kept my foot down on a hill in 5th gear to maintain speed it would act like it was loading up on fuel and then have a light backfire when I let off. So