ford 390 help

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2011, 10:52 PM
67f100-390
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ford 390 help

Hi all i have a few questions regarding the 390 i built and put in my 1967 f-100. first of i will tell you a bit about the engine itself. the 390 block was bored over .060". bolted on are edelbrock performer RPM aluminum heads, edelbrock performer RPM intake manifold and 750 cfm edelbrock performer carb. ignition system is a full MSD system. MSD ignition unit, blaster coil, pro billet distributor and MSD super conductor 8.5mm plug wires. Now onto the questions. First, with vacuum hooked up what should the timing be at idle? with the vacuum unhooked and plugged? This is my first time fully tuning an engine and im not sure about vacuum advance and total timing etc. I am finding the engine runs great no hesitation under load and no pinging with the timing at around 45* BTDC (checked at idle, no load, vacuum hooked up) next question is, is the carb too much for the engine? i just pulled the plugs and all of them were black and carboned up like the engine was running too rich. and i am getting puffs of black smoke out the exhaust when quickly reving the engine up. any ideas? Any comments, thoughts etc are appreciated, thanks.

Old 02-23-2011, 12:20 AM
Bear 45/70
Post Fiend
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by 67f100-390