1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Bumpsides Ford Truck

Charging problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2003, 07:01 AM
thelaw74
Charging problems

I have a 1968 F-100 2WD. I purchased it in '96. Shortly after, the 302 that the other owner put in blew up. I stored the truck until Dec. 02. I put a reman. 302 back in. From what I can tell, it has a Dura Spark II electronic ignition. The original owner said the old 302 and elect. ign. is out of a '84 Mustang. This is my first Ford and I have no experience working on Fords. Here's the problem. The battery won't charge. The battery is brand new as well as the voltage regulator. The alternator tested as good. I think that I have the wiring from the volt. reg. to the alternator wrong. The harness to the alt. was re-wired at one time with all the same colored wires. I noticed there are 4 terminals on the volt. reg. with letters above each. Can anyone help?

Old 03-09-2003, 10:44 AM
Mike W
Post Fiend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Charging problems

The F on the regulator goes to the Fld on the alt. The A on the reg goes to the battery connection on the solinoid as does the bat term on the alt.

The S on the reg goes to the run of the ign switch. This tells the reg to provide field current to the alt. Be sure the regulator is grounded.

Old 03-09-2003, 12:56 PM
BB
Post Fiend
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Charging problems

Hi and welcome to FTE!

If you have idiot lights, the wiring is a little different. The 'S' terminal goes to the stator on the alt. and the 'I' terminal goes to the alt. idiot light.

Barry

Old 03-12-2003, 01:43 AM
thelaw74
Charging problems