Notices

scanners!

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2003, 10:41 PM
Njbmx
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
scanners!

i know this is not part of the ford truck itself, but i just got pulled over last night in my town for doing 81 in a 55. i know i should not speed and all that crap. but what is a good scanner to have? i'm a college student which means that i dont have alot of money laying around. anyway can i have model #'s and names of the best places to buy them.

Old 03-09-2003, 12:28 AM
OhioFordMan
New User
scanners!

I got a Bearcat model number bc350a scanner in my truck I bought it at Walmart for $99.00 plus tax. hope this helps.

Old 03-10-2003, 04:41 AM
firecop418
New User
scanners!

Ref. the scanner...
Before I was a cop I bought a Bearcat BCT-7 scanner because of the Highway Patrol ALERT feature. The radio is advertised as being able to detect Highway Patrol by their police radio transmissions. Basically the radio claims that if a Highway Patrolman keys up to talk in about a 5 mile radius, the radio would sense this, and an alarm would go off; indicating that a HP trooper/cop was nearby.

Anyways, when I got the radio I was disappointed as I sat down near my local police station, which is also where the Highway Patrol is located, and never once did the radio go off in over 1 hour! As I was driving home the radio went off, and I was also listening to the scanner so I heard the officer that set it off. The officer was 6 miles away in an adjacent county, and I personally knew that officer did not have radar--as it was an outdated radio that set the scanner alarm off (thats how the radio works).