6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

Bypass Oil Filter kit installation with pictures

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2011, 01:53 AM
Von-Overkill
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bypass Oil Filter kit installation with pictures

So I decided to add the benefits of a dual bypass filtration system to my new F450.
The idea was to give the truck more advantages than dino oil could offer. I won't bore anyone by citing all the benefits, but one of them may be extended drain intervals. But with some of these engines "making oil", we will have to see with oil analysis where the extended drain sweet spot really lies.

On my last diesel truck (2006), the oil tested good to about 25,000 miles between changes (based on analysis). And I've been using variants of this system since 1986 with good success. I always liked the idea of reducing the dirt particle size that normally circulates in the engine even with a new filter and fresh oil. The standard filter could not be more efficient since it could restrict flow and cavitate. The answer was one full flow filter and one metered one, as in the system below (though other combinations are possible).
Not really trying to sell anyone on this, but for those considering, I thought it might be nice to contribute some installation pics.

Engine turns over pretty easily at -20 degrees without plugging in. Supposed to be more slippery, but I'm sure the reduced friction results in minimal mileage gains. Engine seems to run about 6 degrees cooler on the freeway.
I had to figure out where to put everything, and it took more than half a day in a heated garage bay. As big as these trucks are, there isn't spare space in the engine compartment for this kit.