Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Transmission temperature gauge

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2010, 03:46 PM
snaponprofile
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Transmission temperature gauge

Anyone ever hook up a transmission temperature gauge? I have a pillar gauge cluster and am going to end up with boost, EGT, and trans temp. The installation manual for the temp gauge says to drill a hole in the pan and weld in the sender, but the really has got to be a different way. I'm not good with a welder and I don't even think I could weld it so it stays-so forget about leak free. I'm wondering if I can put the temperature sender into what appears to be a plug in the side of my E4OD. Its on the drivers side and its above the pan flange about 2 inches above. Is there oil on the other side of this specified (or any other) plug? If so, I can probably put my sender in there and make easy work outta this, right? Has any one ever done this?

BTW: the sender is 1/8 NPT brass.

Old 12-21-2010, 03:56 PM
oreocreaming
Postmaster
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
you either need to drop the pan, drill it, weld in a bung and thread the sending unit in OR spend some cash and buy a mag hytec aluminum deep sump pan thats got a probe hole already.

Old 12-21-2010, 03:58 PM
oreocreaming
Postmaster
if you go to a hydraulic fitting place, im sure you can find a compression fitting that you will have to still drop the pan, drill it and put the fitting inside with a nut on the outside and gaskets between to prevent leakage. thats how i ran my fuel lines from my in bed tank to my front and rear tank. tranny gets pretty hot though, and its covered in oil the whole time so make sure they are the proper 0 rings/ gaskets

Old 12-21-2010, 04:07 PM
snaponprofile
Postmaster
My sending unit is threaded, but you don't think it will screw into the plug on the side of the transmission??

Old 12-21-2010, 04:14 PM
ManicMike
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts