Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DIY 4x4 Bumpers

Old 12-13-2010, 06:21 PM
DIYMechanic
Post Fiend
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
DIY 4x4 Bumpers

Hey all, a real newbie here as I just traded my '99 F-150 for a '96 F-350 Crew Cab, 7.3L PSD, 4x4. What a beast, but anyway, I was wondering if anyone on here has done any fabrication and built their own front and rear bumpers? I'd like to start by tackling the front bumper and building one that has an integrated grill guard and either a 2" receiver or a winch mounting plate where I can add a winch later on. I'm no stranger to fabrication and am pretty decent with a torch and welder, but I am looking for some direction on a design. Any suggestions?

Old 12-13-2010, 08:51 PM
L. Ward
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Old 12-13-2010, 09:13 PM
9.ford.5
Postmaster
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Old 12-13-2010, 10:19 PM
ExtrmZ
Senior User
im in the process of making my front bumper now, i modeled it after that first link, ill try to post some pics when i get her done.

the back bumper is my next project

Old 12-14-2010, 05:50 AM
hav24wheel
FTE Chapter Leader

Received 96 Likes on 78 Posts
I made a rear bumper, and added pull points to the front bumper. The rear is held on by ten 1/2 inch bolts.

Old 12-14-2010, 06:51 AM
DIYMechanic
Post Fiend
Looks great! Keep them coming. Thanks for the links too.

ExtremZ I'd love to see some pictures when you're done.

I don't need some pre-runner looking silly thing, I just want a bumper that works as hard and is as rugged as the rest of the truck. Thinking about attempting to make my own nerf bars too. I am an electrician so I have access to the hydraulic pipe benders I would need to bend the tubing. The wife and kids have a hard time climbing into the truck now and I haven't even put a lift on it!

Old 12-14-2010, 07:02 AM
L. Ward
Elder User