1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

how much is a heater for a 51

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2010, 07:16 PM
iwanaflattie
Fleet Mechanic

Received 30 Likes on 8 Posts
how much is a heater for a 51

so winters here and believe it or not it gets real cold in the desert,just last year it snowed at the house and there was 6 inches of snow bout 20 miles from here...so having no heater in the truck sucks specially for nikolaus my 20 month old son,,,anybody know how much a heater is and how dificult its is to install

Old 11-29-2010, 07:33 PM
ibuzzard
Panties NOT in a Twist

Received 288 Likes on 199 Posts
I think that member firstrider may have what you need, no idea of price.There are also aftermarket ones, from various sources like J C Whitney, Summit Racing , and the usual suspects.I've no experience with them, thus no recommendation, but you'll soon hear from someone with firsthand knowledge.Good luck.

Old 11-29-2010, 07:50 PM
52 Merc
Hotshot
Received 2,446 Likes on 1,394 Posts
Heaters can run $25 and up. And up. It all depends on style and condition. A basic recirculating air type, with a fan that blows air from inside the cab through a heater core to make it warm is pretty cheap, and I can probably set you up with one. The magic aire style, which incorporates an option to bring in fresh air from outside, will run quite a bit more. "Firstrider" Denny restores those and sells them. But be prepared for the 'and up' price tag, and for good reason. He does a first class job with them, from what I've seen in his pictures here.

Installation is pretty straight forward. A few bolts and a couple hoses through the firewall and you'll be warm. The magic aire also adds a 4" pipe that runs under the fender from the grille to the cowl for the fresh air intake.

Old 11-29-2010, 08:16 PM
firstrider
Logistics Pro

Received 119 Likes on 57 Posts