V10 Rod Bearings going out

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2010, 04:12 PM
demery
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
V10 Rod Bearings going out

2004 V10 EX Limited 105K

Heard raddle. Drew Ford determined the rob bearings were going out. Said I need a new engine $8K. Can this be fixed outside of going to the dealer? I'm not a mechanic but if I find one I trust could they fix for cheaper? PLEASE HELP.....

demery

Old 11-28-2010, 07:16 PM
garryk6
Laughing Gas
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Ask around for a reputable mechanic. I know that sometimes that is a hard thing to find. But usually a non-ford Mechanic rates are a fair bit less than the Ford rates. The other option is to find a mechanic that will take a "take-out" V-10 from a wrecked truck and then drop that in. BUt you may find out that the labor charges will make it more cost effective to have your engine rebuilt than to have a used one installed. With the economy in San Diego, you should be able to find a mechanic that will give you a decent deal.
Good Luck,
Garry in Kodiak, AK
(Used to be stationed in San Diego for many years between 1986 and 2003)

Old 11-28-2010, 07:26 PM
calialx1
Freshman User
You can always find a cheaper repair than the dealership. There is a reason they are referred to as the stealership.

Old 11-29-2010, 04:02 PM
perryg114
More Turbo
I am interested in what made the bearings fail? The only thing that comes to mind is low or no oil pressure from a mechanical problem or no oil in the crankcase. Are there any other wear related problems? Does it burn oil?

Perry

Old 11-29-2010, 04:13 PM
demery
Freshman User
That is my concern and my argument to Ford Corp. Oil pressure was fine, oil level was fine, no dash light indicators came on. One day the engine is great..... The next day I need a new one. Doesn't make any sense to me.

Old 11-29-2010, 09:14 PM
UrbanXX
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts