1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Help with Diagnosis of Issue with Intermittent Wipers Requested

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2010, 11:09 AM
Lord Dark Star
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help with Diagnosis of Issue with Intermittent Wipers Requested

Good morning,

I am new to the FTE forum. My name is Frank. I am a disabled 50-something shade tree parts changer and I am looking for some assistance diagnosing an issue I am having with my 1986 F-150's intermittent wipers.

When the wipers are on continuously - either low or high setting - they will run briefly, then stop about mid window. They will remain there until I fiddle with the wiper switch a bit, returning it to the stop position. The wipers will then return to the park position. This issue does not occur when the wipers are on in any intermittent setting.

Thinking about this issue and after having read many, many posts on this forum about problems with intermittent wipers, I strongly suspect the issue resides with the intermittent wiper governor circuit. When on for a brief period, something gets hot and shuts the wipers down until it cools off - like a circuit breaker if there were a circuit breaker involved instead a fuse. It could also potentially be the ground for the governor circuit as well I suppose.

Does my reasoning make sense to those of you who are more experienced troubleshooting electrical issues? Am I missing or ignoring any other high probability items?

I appreciate any assistance you all can provide me!

Frank

Old 11-28-2010, 11:46 AM
ctubutis
Received 72 Likes on 56 Posts
Sounds perfectly reasonable to me, and welcome to FTE!

Others here will know better than me since I'm not positive but I believe there might be
a circuit breaker in the switch assembly and, if there is, it might be doing its job (which
is to protect the wiring) and reacting to an overheating situation caused by bad