1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Dash smoothing...amateur style!

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2010, 12:38 AM
jburroughs12
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dash smoothing...amateur style!

So, when I bought my truck, there were two holes in the dash from who knows what. I'm guessing one of the previous owners had some gauges in there. Also, there was an open hole where the throttle **** was, and the choke **** was there, but not hooked up to the carb. So, enter some bondo and my serious lack of skills+some frosty beverages. Here's the carnage...
Step one, sand down the area to be bondo'd. Check.

Step two, locate some backing material. Double check.

Step three, install said backing material. Man, I'm a professional!

Step four, slab on some bondo....maybe I'm not the professional I originally thought...

Step five, while waiting for the bondo to dry, enjoy a frosty beverage. I'm pretty good at this step.

Step six, get some high quality, triple density, double tough, insanely expensive over coat.

I got a few coats of paint on, but it got too dark to take any decent pictures.
So, the final astounding product will be on display for all you good people...tomorrow.

Old 11-14-2010, 12:41 AM
Julies Cool F1
Post Fiend
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Everything looks ok so far............

Old 11-14-2010, 03:13 AM
low54
Elder User
In your steps to repair, I didn't see you had sanded the bondo area...did you?...

Old 11-14-2010, 10:16 AM
bobbytnm
Roast em' if you got 'em
Received 3,833 Likes on 1,833 Posts
I'm pretty good at step 5. In fact I've been so good at it that I haven't actually achieved anything on the truck in quite some time.

Looks good so far
Bobby

Old 11-14-2010, 11:00 AM
jim collins
Cargo Master

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts