Go Back   Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums > Newer Light Duty Trucks > 2009 - 2014 F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

2009 - 2014 F150 Discuss the 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 Ford F150 SPONSORED BY:

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2010, 04:17 PM
Senior User

akalogan is starting off with a positive reputation.
What is the biggest difference between Ford and Chevy?...

I was reading an article at pickuptruck.com and there is a new gm add and of course it is making fun of Ford. Well beside the obvious stuff what are some of the biggest difference between the 2 trucks? I am a Ford guy, but is the GM trucks sheet metal really that tinny? What are the real reason Ford's Frame so much heavier? That kind of thing, I am no engineer so I was hoping some of you super knowledgable types could break it down a little? Here is hoping for a good chat...

Gabe
Old 11-05-2010, 05:38 PM
Junior User

stangr8cr is starting off with a positive reputation.
Ford.......... NOT built with your tax dollars!!

Keith
Old 11-05-2010, 05:39 PM
New User

SouthwestEquipment is starting off with a positive reputation.
I thought a big difference was the independent front axel in Chevy sucked compared to the locked axel in Ford's. I know this is why most off-road (logging, bucket trucks, etc.) and hauling trucks are Ford.
Old 11-05-2010, 06:17 PM
Senior User

Evan92 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthwestEquipment View Post
I thought a big difference was the independent front axel in Chevy sucked compared to the locked axel in Ford's. I know this is why most off-road (logging, bucket trucks, etc.) and hauling trucks are Ford.
All new half tons have independent front suspension. For 3/4+ ton you are right.

I know that the new Chevy interiors blow. They look and feel cheap and their cloth seats attract A LOT of lint.
Old 11-05-2010, 09:14 PM
Posting Guru