Notices
2009 - 2014 F150 Discuss the 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 Ford F150
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Moser

What is the biggest difference between Ford and Chevy?...

Old 11-05-2010, 03:17 PM
akalogan
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What is the biggest difference between Ford and Chevy?...

I was reading an article at pickuptruck.com and there is a new gm add and of course it is making fun of Ford. Well beside the obvious stuff what are some of the biggest difference between the 2 trucks? I am a Ford guy, but is the GM trucks sheet metal really that tinny? What are the real reason Ford's Frame so much heavier? That kind of thing, I am no engineer so I was hoping some of you super knowledgable types could break it down a little? Here is hoping for a good chat...

Gabe

Old 11-05-2010, 04:38 PM
stangr8cr
Junior User
Ford.......... NOT built with your tax dollars!!

Keith

Old 11-05-2010, 04:39 PM
SouthwestEquipment
New User
I thought a big difference was the independent front axel in Chevy sucked compared to the locked axel in Ford's. I know this is why most off-road (logging, bucket trucks, etc.) and hauling trucks are Ford.

Old 11-05-2010, 05:17 PM
Evan92
Senior User
Originally Posted by SouthwestEquipment
I thought a big difference was the independent front axel in Chevy sucked compared to the locked axel in Ford's. I know this is why most off-road (logging, bucket trucks, etc.) and hauling trucks are Ford.
All new half tons have independent front suspension. For 3/4+ ton you are right.

I know that the new Chevy interiors blow. They look and feel cheap and their cloth seats attract A LOT of lint.

Old 11-05-2010, 08:14 PM
Greg B
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Ford has always put a little stouter powertrain, frame, and suspension under their trucks than GM or Dodge. And from what I can see, still does.

Old 11-05-2010, 09:09 PM
schaibaa
Freshman User