1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

Hi! and first question...

Old 10-31-2010, 04:01 PM
cjray03
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi! and first question...

Hi. I'm new here and have gotten good info from some of the posts so far...thank you. Now for my own question... I recently bought a 1966 F250 with the 352. This thing is a beauty! I am almost positive that it has 107,00 original miles and that the entire truck is original. I am wanting to add power steering to this beauty, but I need to know out of which trucks or vehicles I can scavenge the parts to do so. I am not a novice at auto work, it's just been a few years since I have turned wrenches, but I have found that I enjoy it again...thanks for any info you can provide. Here is a link to some photos of it.

f250 driverside | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

Old 10-31-2010, 05:32 PM
jowilker
Fleet Owner

Received 46 Likes on 44 Posts
250 donor start a little earlier but 73-76 would be a great year search to get your steering along with power disc brakes, which I would recommend you swap in at the same time.

You will need to swap the steering column from the donor so finding one with the tranny that you have or want to change to is a must.

John

Old 10-31-2010, 06:24 PM
CropDusterMan
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hi cjray,
Welcome to FTE.Truck looks really good...I think that bench seat, if original, has never seen a sunny day...musta been covered all the while. Personally, I'm not a big fan of power steering on these old trucks...I never seem to need it...but if you search through some of the old posts, you'll find a lot of good info on doing such swaps...every time I go on here there is a post about it. How do the rain gutters and cab mounts look?...any rust?

Old 10-31-2010, 08:16 PM
cjray03
Freshman User