Excursion - King of SUVs 2000 - 2005 Ford Excursion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with first Ex purchase! (Need SUV for RV TT)

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2010, 09:42 PM
dcorry
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help with first Ex purchase! (Need SUV for RV TT)

I've been lurking for a few days, and this forum is great. I'm a newbie to the Ex-world, RVing and diesel RV tow vehicles (but not to towing itself--eg. boats, farm equip, etc), so please treat me like the rookie I am re: the specifics on the Ex / RV-TT stuff. <O</O

The wife are looking at an 8500# (dry; not purchased yet) 34-35 ft TT and need an SUV TV (can't do a truck or 5W w/ all the kids). We live in Colorado, and plan 4-6 trip's / yr (or more) over the next 8 yrs or so. The Ex is a perfect match for the family needs, but I need help finding the right one (which engine?). Also, I'm also a little concerned re: getting to the upper limits of the Ex's tow capacity.<O

A good friend has a 2005 6.0PSD and loves it; says I should get the same thing. The wife, however, is concerned about a >$22K purchase for '05 (craigslist), but really wants the RV, and is more comfortable w/ a $10K-$15K TV purchase. So, to help smooth my transition into the Ex/RV world (and keep my marriage out of the ditch!), it'd be great to get some guidance from you guys.

1) Should I avoid the 2003-2004 6.0L PSD as my friend suggests (he describes nightmares with these engines)?
2) What about a 2002-2003 7.3L PSD to try to lower the price point (or should I just push for the 2005)?
3) Given what I want to tow, what do you suggest re: minimum tow package (WD hitch, sway bars, tires, etc)?
4) What advice do you have re: my concerns on the size/weight of the TT (and will be hauling two adults w/ 3-5 kids + gear) vs. the towing capacity of the Ex.
5) Any other generic advice re: buying an Ex off of craigslist (never done it before...only bought from dealerships in past, and never a diesel truck).